Hitchin’ A Ride….

Sib

Even though this blog focuses on the Chicago local music scene, I want to take time to eulogize a former member of one of my all-time favorite bands. I was a high school student in the mid-70’s and no band lifted my spirits and touched my soul more than Boston. Lots of critics like to pan this group, calling them “stadium” or “corporate” rock, but those of us that are fans know better. They ushered in a period of melodic rock that was deep in emotion and fun to play air guitar to at those parties in the forest preserves. If you’re in your mid-50’s, I’ll bet you can do many of Sib Hashian’s drum fills & solos like it was yesterday. After Brad Delp passed in ’07, Boston was never the same, but that original line up was golden. The rhythm section of Fran Sheehan and Sib Hashian were at the top of their game in the mid to late 70’s and Boston lyrics laser beamed through my heart back then, as they do to this day.

Rest in peace, Sib Hashian, Boston drummer extraordinaire. Thank you for rockin’ that beat I came to love so much. You will be missed…
.

Leave a Reply

